I’m JUST Saying


Years ago my parents brought our family from our island home to the United States in hopes of living a more fulfilling life, and growing up I saw many examples of life with possibilities. So when I hear someone describe themselves or their possessions and add the word JUST as an adjective, it makes me wonder about limitations. Here are a few examples:  “I’m just the cook.”  “I’m just a cashier, but I want to be a manager.” “I’m just trying to get by on one check.” “Oh, that’s just our house even though it needs work.” Using the word just in these instances is like applying the brakes on a moving vehicle and no one ever gets very far if they’re constantly on the brakes. If we take off the limitations then we’ll move along life at a more accelerated pace.

“What do you do for a living?” “Well, I’m a cook and I’m studying to become a chef.”

“Do you enjoy working at the store?” ” I do, I’m a cashier, for now, but I’m taking management classes and someday I’ll be a manager.”

“Oh, it must be difficult financially since your wife got sick and can’t work?” “I’m happy she’s on her way to recovery but I’m glad that I’m healthy enough to bring in an income for the both of us.”

“Boy, you probably don’t have a moment’s peace with all the people in your house, huh? “We are grateful to have a place of our own that we can call home.”

Try not to JUST be this or that, BE. Once you change your words you change your world.

Casually speaking and all the best,
Mercedes

Leave a Reply

