Am I Forgetting Something?


One of my proudest achievements in life is writing and over the years I’ve developed a really great memory.  I recently watched a movie and one of the characters was experiencing early stages of Alzheimer’s disease where some days he had clarity and other days he was lost in a fog. I started to think about what happens with memory loss and its effects. Losing memories is like losing your soul and that is something I would hate to happen. Over the past few years I made a conscious effort to make memories every opportunity I get, beyond just living from day-to-day. My mother died right in front of me when I was eleven years old and just weeks before her death she and I danced around the living room after hearing some good news. I don’t want to forget that. After a twenty-eight hour labor, my baby went into distress and the heart rate was steadily declining. The doctors had to do an emergency caesarean section. Unfortunately, I wasn’t completely sedated and I woke up during the surgery and felt the incision followed by the excruciating pain, but I had a healthy baby boy. I don’t want to forget that either. There are so many moments that I’ve experienced that I want to remember for as long as I can. This year I started a journal again, I haven’t done that in years, so that I can refer to some of the highlights and memorable moments.  Memories can develop stories and stories make history.

Casually speaking and all the best,
Mercedes

Leave a Reply

